Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

20 November 2014

A Stranger In Town

Album: Ingredients In A Recipe For Soul, ABC/Paramount 465, August 1963.

Recorded on 10 and 13 July 1963 in New York.

Oliver Beener, Wallace Davenport, Phil Guilbeau, John Hunt, Roy Burrows, Floyd Jones, Curtis Miller - trumpets; Henderson Chambers, James Lee Harbert, Keg Johnson, Julian Priester, Fred Morden - trombones; Hank Crawford, Bill Pearson, Harold Minerve, Dan Turner - alto saxophones; James Clay, David Fathead Newman - tenor saxophones; Leroy Cooper - baritone saxophone; Al Hendrickson, Sonny Forriest - guitar; Joe Comfort, Edgar Willis - bass; Irving Cottler, Wilbert Hogan, Bob Thompson - drums; uncredited strings; The Jack Halloran Singers - backing vocals.

Arranged by Sid Feller.

The album was "mixed twice", Steve Hoffman revealed. "The 'official' mix is actually a pointless remix done at Bell Sound about a month after the album was recorded. That is what was used for the [DCC] silver version. The DCC gold version used the original Capitol, NY mixes. Much better sound, dynamics and overall bitchin-ness."

No comments :

Post a Comment