Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

11 September 2012

Ray Charles In New Haven (1985)

Source: Topfoto.
On 8 June 1985 Ray Charles and his group gave a concert at the Shubert Performing Arts Center in New Haven. The show was taped from the audience. The audio quality is a little less than mediocre.

The setlist was:
  1. Project S (Ray Charles Orchestra)
  2. Intro
  3. Let the Good Times Roll
  4. Georgia On My Mind
  5. Oh, What A Beautiful Morning
  6. How Long Has This Been Going On
  7. Intro Raelettes
  8. I Want Your Love (with The Raelettes)
  9. Anyway You Want To
  10. I Can't Stop Loving You
  11. I’m Gonna Keep On Singin’ + What'd I Say
  12. Outro
  13. America The Beautiful
  14. Walk-off
From Project S (#1) only one other live version (Madrid, 1975) has survived. #13 is a double surprise:  America The Beautiful was only part of the Ray Charles Orchestra's repertoire on and around the 4th of July (he also sang it frequently in his symphony gigs), and Ray 'never' (i.e. hardly ever) did encores.

No comments :

Post a Comment