Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

29 January 2010

Dedicated To You (1961)

  1. Hardhearted Hannah
  2. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
  3. Margie
  4. Ruby
  5. Rosetta
  6. Stella By Starlight
  7. Cherry
  8. Josephine
  9. Candy
  10. Marie
  11. Diane
  12. Sweet Georgia Brown
This - historically under-appreciated - album is dedicated to the girls. It combines a personal love song like Margie with funny big-band celebrations of Hardhearted Hannah and (an up tempo version of) Sweet Georgia Brown, with a light footed instrumental (Josephine), with a string studded rendition of Nancy, and with sublime interpretations of Stella By Starlight and Ruby. Marty Paich wrote the charts.

Hank Crawford - alto saxophone; David Fathead Newman - tenor saxophone; Leroy Cooper - baritone saxophone; Martin Banks, John Hunt (trumpet); Bill Pittman - guitar; Edgar Willis - bass; Irving Cottler - drums; Marty Paich - arranger, conductor. Uncredited: strings and (Jack Halloran?) Singers. Producer: Sid Feller.

Recorded at United Studios in Hollywood on August 23-24, 1960. ABC/Paramount 355, January 1961.

No comments :

Post a Comment