Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

22 February 2010

I'll Be Good To You (Pt 1, 2) (With Chaka Khan, Quincy Jones) (1989)

I'll Be Good To You originally was a 1976 hit song by R&B duo The Brothers Johnson. The Brothers Johnson's producer Quincy Jones heard the song, liked it, and convinced George to sing lead on the finished track. Released from their debut album, Look Out For #1, it was a top-ten hit on the Billboard Hot Singles Charts, peaking at number three, and a number one song on the Billboard R&B Charts.
14 years later, it became a number one R&B hit again, with Chaka Khan and Ray Charles doing the vocals on Quincy Jones' Back On the Block album (the record also went to #18 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart, and topped the American dance chart in early 1990). This was Ray Charles' first #1 R&B hit in twenty-four years.

Single (A), (B): Qwest 22697, 1989-10.

Even the video seems to have been released in two versions...

'89 Clip Good (4:00):
'89 PR Good (Remix) (4:30):

The 4-minute videoclip of the song was based on Quincy Jones' album release Back On the Block, but the single that made it for the charts actually was a compilation of much longer remixes:
  • 12" Remix (8:06)
  • 12" Remix Dub
  • Good For Your Soul Mix (8:18): additional production and remix by Arthur Baker for ABI. Rap written and performed by Skam. Programming by Mac Quayle. Mix engineer: Mark Plati at Shakedown Sound. Edits By Charlie Barbie and Vic.
  • Good For Your Soul Dub (4:45)
  • Around The House Mix: details as Soul mix, plus: edits by Oh Oh Omar Santana.
  • Around The House Dub
Good For [Your] Soul Mix (8:18):
   [Video not visible]

Around The House Mix (6:54):
   [Video not visible]

The 33 1/3 vinyl version reproduced in the soundclip below specifies 3 of the mixes in yet another order:
  • 12" Remix 8:06
  • Good For Your Soul Mix 8:18
  • Good For Your Soul Dub 4:45

Soundclip of a 4:54 version (possibly one of the mixes mentioned above):
  [Video not visible]

The label of this promo CD tells that there was also a 4:17 mix of the single version, plus an instrumental version with the same duration:

A few seconds of making of-footage in the BBC documentary The Many Lives Of Q, from 2008: start watching here.

Lead vocals – Chaka Khan, Ray Charles; guitar - George Johnson; bass - Louis Johnson; keyboards - David Paich, Greg Phillinganes, Ian Prince; drums - Harvey Mason; drum sounds - Bruce Swedien; backing vocals - George Johnson, James Ingram, James Gilstrap, Louis Johnson, Phil Perry, Siedah Garrett, Syreeta Wright; programmed by - Ian Underwood, Larry Williams, Michael Boddicker, Steve Porcaro; arranged by - Quincy Jones.

Listen Up (1990) had some marvelous making of-footage:

No comments :

Post a Comment