Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

25 February 2010

Ray Charles In Person

  1. (Night Time Is) The Right Time
  2. What'd I Say
  3. Yes Indeed
  4. Hot Rod (Spirit-Feel)
  5. Frenesi
  6. Drown In My Own Tears
  7. Tell The Truth 
This was Ray Charles' first unintended live album, recorded with one single mike, high above the stage, in Atlanta at Morris Brown College's Herndon Stadium on 29 May 1959, at radio station WAOK's 5th anniversary celebration. It was in fact one of the first open air music festivals in history: Ray was co-billed with Roy Hamilton, B.B. King, The Drifters, Buddy Johnson, Ruth Brown, Johnny Adams a.o.
Though DJ Zenas Sears only wanted to use bits of the recording to advertise other live concerts, Atlantic's Jerry Wexler convinced Ray to put out this 'accidental' live recording in 1960 (for the taping circumstances at the concert, read liner notes below).

Musicians: Marcus Belgrave, John Hunt - trumpet, David Newman – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone; Hank Crawford – baritone saxophone; Edgar Willis – bass; Teagle Fleming – drums. The Raelettes: Margie Hendricks, Pat Lyles, Darlene McCrea.
Yes Indeed was recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival on July 5, 1958, with Lee Harper in stead of John Hunt on trumpet and Richie Goldberg in stead of Teagle Fleming on drums.

Album: Ray Charles - In Person, Atlantic 8039, May 1960 (1959).

No comments :

Post a Comment