Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

14 February 2010

My Kind Of Jazz Part 3 (1975)

  1. I'm Gonna Go Fishin' (Ray Charles and Ernest Vantrease in electric piano duet; PG - tp; CS - as)
  2. For Her (JC - fl; GC - tb)
  3. Sister Sadie (LC - bs; JC - tp)
  4. ¾ Of The Time (JC - ts; JC - tp)
  5. Ray Minor Ray (JC, AE - ts; JC, PG - tp; EW - b)
  6. Samba De Elencia (AE - ts, ?? - tb)
  7. Metamorphosis (CS - as; PG - tp; EV - p)
  8. Nothing Wrong (PG - tp; JC -ts; ?GC? - tb)
  9. Project S (JC, AE - ts; JC - fl)
Ray Charles only played on track #1. Johnny Coles, Jack Evans, Phil Guilbeau, Bob Coassin - trumpets; Ken Tussing, Glenn Childress, Steve Davis, Wally Huff - trombones; Eddie Pratt, Clifford Solomon - alto saxophones; James Clay, Andy Ennis - tenor saxophones; Leroy Cooper - baritone saxophone; Ernest Vantrease - piano, electric piano; Edgar Willis - bass; John Bryant - drums.

Drummer John Bryant informed me that "The soloists were John Coles and Phil Guilbeau on trumpets, James Clay and Andy Ennis on tenor sax, and Clifford Solomon on alto sax. I'm Gonna Go Fishin features Ray and Ernie Vantrease on electric piano duet."

The arrangements were from Roger Neumann (#1, 4, 7, 8), Alf Clausen (#2, 3, 6), Jimmy Heath (#9).
Ray Charles - producer; Ray Charles, Bob Gratts - engineers.

Recorded on a 16-track console  in late 1974 and early 1975 at RPM Studios. Ray only played on the first track (the keyboards from the left channel). "Ray set up the mikes, engineered and mixed this record with assistance from Bob Gratts. Everything was recorded simul, except maybe the piano duet," remembers John Bryant. Crossover 9007, October 1975.

* Line-up based on liner notes by Joël Dufour. Solos attributed by Jack Evans.

No comments :

Post a Comment