Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

27 February 2010

Ray Charles Live At The Olympia (2000)

  1. Intro
  2. Untitled instrumental*
  3. Just The Way You Look Tonight (instrumental)
  4. Route 66
  5. A Song For You 
  6. Hallelujah I Just Love Her So
  7. Georgia On My Mind
  8. Stranger In My Own Home Town
  9. Angelina
  10. I've Got A Woman
  11. Hey Girl
  12. Almost Like Being In Love**
  13. Just For A Thrill 
  14. It Had To Be You 
  15. What'd I Say 
* Erroneously named Blues For Big Scotia on the DVD's tracklist. ** Erroneously titled Almost Like Being In Love Again.
    From Billboard, 15 Oct. 1966.
    On November 22, 2000 Ray Charles was supposed to play with his big band and The Raelettes, but due to an air traffic controllers lightning strike in Lisbon, his personnel was stuck at the airport. The day of the concert Ray arrived in Paris with only his rhythm section. They worked out a new show at their hotel, and came on stage late. The recording was directed by Gérard Pullicino.

    It resulted in a unique unplugged concert film. Tom Fowler stated, "Trouées! J'avais perdu mes chaussures dans les coulisses, mais j'avais retrouvé la joie de jouer avec Ray" (I've lost my shoes backstage, but I've found back the joy of playing with Ray).
    Jean-Pierre Grosz, Ray's agent in France and the producer of some of his last albums, insisted that this concert took place 40 years after his first triumph at the Olympia theater (where, in reality, Ray made his Olympia debut in 1962).  Read full story here (in French).

    Ray Charles, keyboards, vocal; Brad Rabuchin, guitar; Tom Fowler, acoustic double bass; Peter Turre, drums.

    DVD (including bonus interviews): Music Video Distributors, 2006 (2000). Audio CD: XIII Bis Records, 11 January 2005, 640543 2; ASIN: B0006B7IH6.

    (I've also found an (A+ quality) recording - possibly an audio bootleg - of this concert, where the first three songs (Blues For Big Scotia, The Way You Look Tonight and Route 66) are missing. This cut has kept the (brief) concert's intro (which hasn't been specified in the track list of the video release).

    Complete concert:


    1. Je pense que le DVD "Ray Charles Live a l'Olympia" contient un bonus avec des interviews. Ai-je tort? Si non, vous avez le bonus qui se trouve sur le DVD?