Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

04 April 2010

Ray Charles Live In Leverkusen (1993)

The concert of Ray Charles, the Ray Charles Orchestra and the Raelettes at the Leverkusener Jazztage on 19 November 1993 was announced as a JVC Supersession. It has been bootlegged as an audio and as a video, and - awkwardly - there's also a semi-legit release as a CD with a view variations, titled Live '93 (see below)
The concert was part of a tour, with Maceo Parker taking care of the opening act. Peter Turre informed me that Maceo would come back on stage to play a solo with Ray and the orchestra most every night.

The setlist was:
  1. Then We'll Be Home (Sadies Tune)
  2. Busted
  3. Georgia On My Mind
  4. Mississippi Mud
  5. How Long Has This Been Going On (trumpet solo by David Hoffman)
  6. Blues For Big Scotia
  7. Still Crazy After All These Years
  8. Stranger In My Own Hometown
  9. The Brightest Smile In Town
  10. Rock Steady (The Raelettes)
  11. Baby It's Cold Outside (ft Angie Workman)
  12. I Can't Stop Loving You
  13. What'd I Say
  14. Outro
Musicians: Al Waters - tenor saxophone; Al Jackson - alto saxophone, band leader; Steve Elliot, Rudy Johnson, James Farnsworth - saxophone; David Hoffman, Larry Foyen, Kurt Weiss, Ken Scharf - trumpet; Michel Guerrier, Steve Sigmund, Marc Fields, Pete Beltran - trombone; Kenny Carr - guitar; Tom Fowler - bass; Peter Turre - drums, Ernest Vantrease - organ. The Raelettes: Angela Workman, Trudy Cohran, Michelle King, Elaine Woodard, Estella Yarbrough.
* Peter Turre helped to name the personnel. 

#2 - 14:

The audio CD Live '93 (Jazz Door 1263) is presented as having been "Recorded in different locations in the U.S.A." It's offered through regular channels (like Amazon), but is not legit. Its setlist can be identified with the Leverkusen audio bootleg that's circulating on the web (only tracks #2 and #3 have changed places).

Who knows more about the footage of tune #1?

No comments :

Post a Comment