Mediagraphy - Discography - Trackography - Videography - Gigography - Biography - Chronology

05 April 2010

Ray Charles Live At North Sea Jazz Festival (1997)

Dutch public broadcaster NOS taped a lot during the North Sea Jazz Festival 1997 in The Hague. A small selection (5 acts, including 3 songs from Ray's concert) was aired in several European countries as EBU Jazz Night ‘97 (EBU = European Broadcasting Union), on 11 July 1997. Introduced off camera by Julian Joseph, directed by Eduard Huis In 't Veld, Frank Alsema, and Monique Hamer. The tunes were:
  • Teardrops From My Eyes
  • Say No More
  • What'd I Say
An interview with Ray was part of the broadcast.
The source materials are kept in the Dutch Beeld- en Geluid-Archief, document ID 174961.

Musicians: Ted Murdock, Roger Ingram, David Hoffman, Ken Scharf - trumpet; Mike Guerrier, Steve Sigmund, Clay Lawry, Wayne Coniglio - trombone; Al Waters, Al Jackson, Steve Elliott, Rudy Johnson, James Farnsworth - saxophone; Kenny Carr - guitar; Tom Fowler - bass; Ernest Vantrease - keyboards; Peter Turre - drums. The Raelettes: Estella Yarbrough, Katrina Harper Cooke, Kathy Mackey, Karen Evans, Tonette McKinney.
*Line-up kindly confirmed by Dave Hoffman. 

Say No More:

What'd I Say:

That same day the festival was also subject to a broadcast for the Dutch television audience only, entitled North Sea Jazz Festival 1997. It was presented by Ivette Forster and Co de Kloet, and was aired live by NPS on Nederland 3. From Ray's concert Mississippi Mud, and I Can't Stop Loving You. were selected.

On February 26, 2012 Dutch radio DJ veteran Co de Kloet, in his weekly Co Live show on Radio 6, re-broadcast the audio of a TV interview with Ray, which he conducted just before the concert. De Kloet promised to submit the video of the interview to his website soon.
Subsequently, he selected five tunes from the concert, which now, for the first time, can be listened to on the Web:
  • Mississipi Mud
  • How Long Has This Been Going On
  • Teardrops From My Eyes
  • Say No More
  • Stranger In My Own Home Town
The interview starts at 3:30:20, the 5 tracks follow immediately after that:
   [File was deleted from Radio 6 website]


Source materials: Beeld- en Geluid-Archief, document ID 174960.

Two video files have recently popped up in my inbox.

File 1 (20 minutes from a semi-live broadcast; probably identical to the first program mentioned above):
  1. Interview
  2. Intro
  3. Teardrops From My Eyes
  4. Say No More
  5. Intro Raelettes
  6. What'd I Say
  7. Outro
File 2 (7 minutes from a live broadcast; probably identical to the second program mentioned above):
  1. Mississippi Mud
  2. I Can't Stop Loving You
Update January 14, 2018:
A near-complete (instrumentals missing) copy of a recording for radio has emerged (Beeld- en Geluid-Archief, document ID 4835908):
  1. Intro RC
  2. Then We'll Be Home (Sadies Tune)
  3. Busted
  4. Georgia On My Mind 
  5. Mississipi Mud
  6. How Long Has This Been Going On
  7. Teardrops From My Eyes
  8. Say No More
  9. Stranger In My Own Home Town
  10. A Song For You
  11. Intro Raelettes
  12. Hold On, I'm Coming (ft. KH, TM, KM, KH, SY)
  13. I Can't Stop Loving You 
  14. People Will Say We're In Love (ft. Katrina Harper)
  15. What'd I Say

No comments :

Post a Comment